Pages

Showing posts with label italy. Show all posts
Showing posts with label italy. Show all posts

Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Italy in 25 Pictures

Ciao! I am still alive (yay!) and back in the U.S. (boo!). Jet lag and some surprise deadlines when I arrived back at work on Monday have been wreaking havoc on me for the past fews days, hence the long-delayed return to the blog. I know you guys were desperately awaiting my return, right? (Ha!).

I could write an entire book about our time in Italy. To put it simply: I did not want to come back. Ever.

Here is a selection of 25 of the 1,100 photos that we took over the 13 days we were there. 

Our apartment in Rome was just a few blocks from the Coliseum,
making it the most-photographed object during our trip.

The Oculus inside of the Pantheon

Husband leaving our apartment in Rome

The first of many, many, MANY gelato breaks.

Tossing my coin into the Trevi Fountain

Self-timer portrait with the Coliseum
(not too shabby if I do say so myself)

I became a true cappuccino addict while in Italy.
It was bad. Very bad.
The withdrawl is worse though.

Mount Vesuvius still glowers over poor Pompei

A brief stop in beautiful (but terrifying to get to) Positano.

Husband + Duomo


Fancy cappuccino in Florence

Florence Framed

On top of the Duomo

I don't think I have to tell you what this is

Top of the Leaning Tower

Gondola sighting + Rialto Bridge in Venice

The Grand Canal is just gorgeous.

Nice work on this photo, Husband. 

Twilight Gondola ride

THIS is the life.

And then the water came - this is St. Mark's Square, water flooding
in on day 2 in Venice.

From the famous Bridge of Sighs

How I felt about leaving.

The most "runner-like" behavior that I engaged in
for the duration of the trip.

One last shot of Florence, our favorite spot,
from atop the Duomo.
It's very hard for me to believe it's over, but don't worry... I'm already plotting my next trip (don't tell Husband).

Saturday, May 4, 2013

Arrivederci

This morning, I did what any rational person would do 24 hours out from a 13 day Italian vacation:

I ran 10 miles!

I finally met Jill (of Run Jilly Bean) today, meeting up with her and her Saturday running group at 7:30 am for a 10 miler. As always, I was so happy to meet a previously-only-stalked-via-blog-friend in real life as well as some fabulous Richmond runners including Emma of A Mom Runs This Town and lots of others. 10 miles goes by so fast when you're getting to know new people and as runners, there is always something  (usually lots of things) that you will have in common.

To be honest, those 1.5 hours were the least stressed I've been all week! I just can't believe that tomorrow is May 5 and we really will be getting on a plane and leaving for Rome.

Yesterday, Husband and I spent the entire day cleaning the house and packing. It was pretty exhausting. But I think we are finally ready to go... or as ready as we'll ever be.

All checked in - it's really happening!

Running shoes are packed!
And I had space left over! IT'S A MIRACLE.
We will be dependent on Italian WiFi, so I'm not sure how much blogging I'll be able to do. I'm going to try to check in at least once from each city, so prepare yourself for gratuitous food photos and shots of the various places we'll be visiting (Rome, Pompei, Positano, Florence, Pisa, and Venice!).

For now, arrivederci to the US and buon girno to Italia!